UN Women Africa Gender 2022 Journalism Awards Competition

UN Women Africa Gender 2022 Journalism Awards Competition



Applications are open for the UN Women Gender Journalism Awards Competition 2021. The Gender Journalism Awards Competition aims to promote partnerships between the media and actors in the regional women’s rights sector, with a key focus on supporting and motivating young Journalists to develop an interest in specializing in gender reporting.

The Awards will promote in-depth and impactful coverage of various gender-related issues that reflect the broader work that Feminist Movements in the region take on. Reporting on these issues will contribute to ongoing efforts to enhance and sustain longer-term partnerships with the media in advancing the rights of women and girls.


Journalists are expected to frame their stories along with the following five categories:

  • The Women’s Rights Activism and Leadership
  • Protection of Civic Space for Feminist Action and Movement Building
  • Intergenerational Partnerships for Consensus Building and Succession
  • Feminist Movements and Financing for a Gender Equal Future
  • Technology and Innovation for Gender Equality



  • There are 15 prizes up for grabs. A total of three prizes will be awarded in each category. Winning entries will be announced at a ceremony in November 2021.



  • The competition is open to all professional journalists and freelance journalists, who are at least 18 years of age.
  • Journalists must be working in East and Southern Africa for media organizations that are based in the region (East and Southern Africa) that print publications and electronic news for dissemination in the region as the primary target audience.
  • Journalists are not required to pay any fee to enter the competition.
  • Entries should have been published between May 20 and October 15, 2021, which is the deadline for entry.
  • Late and lost entries, illegible or fraudulent entries or acts or any other entries or acts which bring or would be likely to bring the reputation of the organizers into disrepute shall render the entrant ineligible to participate in the competition and will be disqualified.
  • Journalists must enter ONLY one best story in each of the five categories. Follow-up stories directly linked to the initial story will be counted as a single story.


Judging Criteria

A panel of judges will be looking for:

  • Stories that demonstrate knowledge of the subject area, understanding the scope of the category.
  • A gender-lens approach to reporting (gender-responsive).
  • Great Journalism ability, creativity, innovation, and integrity
  • Writes with clarity, simplicity for ease of communication, and demonstrates analytical skills, depth, and an impressive investment in research.
  • Background knowledge of Generation Equality and ongoing events locally, regionally and globally.
  • Understanding of how the Feminist Movements and Leadership Action Coalition connects with the other 5 Action Coalitions.
  • Demonstrates tenacity, courage, and ability to develop follow-up stories for more insight on the subject area.



Fill in the form and share links to your entries/stories here.

Deadline: October 15, 2021

For more information, visit UN Women.

Previous articleCanon Collins 2022 RMTF Scholarships for Postgraduate
Next articleApply: Africa WETU Foundation 2022 Bursary


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here